Who can apply for a free Iran tourist visa?

irantourex • 22 May 2019
Blog in group IranTourEx
Visa arrival Iran apply tourist-visa

Most likely, you can’t enter Iran on a free visa because only 8 countries are eligible for that. These lucky countries are:

  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bolivia
  • Georgia
  • Malaysia
  • Syria
  • Turkey
  • Venezuela

If you don’t hold a passport from any of the above countries, you must pay for your visa.

Exception! If you enter via Kish Island, all nationalities who are eligible for a VOA(Visa On Arrival), can get a 14-day free Iran tourist visa if they remain in Kish. You may think: who the hell wants to travel to Iran to just remain in Kish? Well, the truth is that many European expats living in Dubai or Doha fly out to Kish to spend the weekend there.

Iran visa on arrival (VOA)

Except for citizens of:

Canada, UK, US, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Canada, Colombia, India, Iraq, Jordan, Nepal, Pakistan, Somalia and Sri Lanka

Everybody can get an Iran visa on arrival at several international airports in Iran. 

Important! Of course, citizens of Israel can’t enter Iran.

According to MFA, if there is any evidence on your passport, your visa will be granted as long your last visit to Israel was more than six months ago.